Woman reviewing course information on a laptop with a notebook beside her.

Idaho-Approved Defensive Driving Courses Compared

Woman reviewing course information on a laptop with a notebook beside her.
Compare the exact course, refund terms and filing steps before paying.

Idaho-approved defensive driving courses differ in price, refunds, and who sends proof to the state. Safe2Drive and Highway Traffic School post almost the same price. Their refund rules differ, so price alone does not settle the choice.[3][4][5][6][7]

This guide compares standard online courses for ITD point reduction. If you need a class for a city program, court order, ticket dismissal, or insurance benefit, check that program’s rules first. A sales page is not proof that the course meets your needs.

General information only: Confirm point-reduction eligibility with the Idaho Transportation Department (ITD). Follow any court or agency notice, and confirm insurance questions with your insurer. Provider prices and terms can change.

Confirm the point benefit before buying

An approved defensive driving class may reduce the violation point count on an Idaho driving record by three. You can receive the qualifying point removal only once every three years. That clock starts when you finish either an approved defensive driving class or qualifying traffic-safety education program. The conviction stays on your record. A class cannot undo a suspension already imposed for excessive points. You also cannot bank a reduction for future violations.[1]

ITD says you must pay citations before finishing the course for the three-point reduction. It recognizes these traffic-class certificates for Idaho-licensed drivers only. Check when you last finished a qualifying class. Then use the official provider list to choose a school.[2]

How we compared the courses

MyRoadWise checked eight schools from ITD’s 30-entry roster. We did not survey the whole market. The roster count also does not mean 30 separate firms. We checked each school’s Idaho offer and public sign-up path for point reduction. The fields below cover price, filing, refunds, access, support, and identity checks.[2]

The public-page sample covers October 8-9, 2026. We did not enroll, pay, take a course, test support, or finish checkout. Schools supplied the price and service claims below; we did not test an invoice. These are plain links, with no affiliate links in this guide.

When a page leaves out a detail, that does not prove there is no fee, time limit, or identity check. We limit advice where a missing detail could affect your choice. We have not ranked the courses or scored their quality.

Safe2Drive and Highway: similar prices, different cancellation terms

Both schools offer a six-hour Idaho course and free digital proof of completion. Both tell you to send that proof to ITD. Their refund rules are the clearer reason to choose between them.[4][6]

Purchase detailSafe2DriveHighway Traffic School
Exact productIdaho 6-Hr Defensive Driving / Point ReductionIdaho Defensive Driving / Accident Prevention
Advertised price$19.95 on the Idaho course page and in the public course-selection path.[3][4]$19.99 on the Idaho page; $29.99 also appears as a reference price.[6]
Standard certificateProvider says free email delivery after passing; printable from the account.[4]Provider says free immediate download after completion.[6]
Submission to ITDDriver signs and emails or mails the certificate.[4]Driver prints and submits the certificate.[6]
Refund after startingFull refund request within 30 days of registration, before completion or certificate issuance.[5]Eligible started-course refunds within 30 calendar days of purchase have a $10 deduction. Completion and other exclusions apply.[7]
Access periodA fixed expiration period was not established in the examined public pages. Confirm before paying.General terms: 180 days from purchase or 30 days after the court date, whichever comes first, unless another applicable period governs.[8]
SupportPhone/email/chat; published Central Time hours: weekdays 8 a.m.-8 p.m., weekends 9 a.m.-5 p.m., subject to holiday hours.[5]Phone/email; staffed hours not stated in the examined support page.[9]
Identity checks publicly described?No specific mid-course procedure established in the examined pages. Ask about required checks.General terms require validation and list possible methods; the exact Idaho implementation is not specified.[8]

Safe2Drive’s Idaho course page also advertises $19.95. In our sign-up check, selecting Idaho 6-Hr Defensive Driving led to a screen showing Point Reduction and $19.95 tuition. Its insurance choices are separate courses.[3][4]

Highway’s Idaho refund policy bears an April 30, 2022 date. The course starts when you view the first slide. It counts as complete at the last unit’s final curriculum slide, even without the last quiz or a certificate. The policy also bars refunds for specified test failures, failed identity checks, expiry, cheating, and breaches of its terms. Some processed extras cannot be refunded.[7]

Its general terms bear a September 9, 2026 date. Possible identity methods include security questions, typing or biometric checks, document checks, and third-party checks. The terms do not say which method the Idaho course uses. Ask before paying if a method would stop you from finishing.[8]

Our assessment: Safe2Drive’s refund rules may suit you if you might stop partway through. You still need to meet its time window and both cutoffs. With Highway, viewing the first slide changes the refund cost. Read its access and identity terms too. These differences do not show which course teaches better, or promise a refund outside the rules.

Six other offers: prices and the questions still open

Use the last column to identify questions to resolve before you buy.

Provider / Idaho offerAdvertised price and certificate informationWhat to resolve before relying on the offer
$12 Idaho Driver$12; provider says course, unlimited test attempts, and immediate downloadable certificate are included. Its FAQ assigns ITD submission to the driver.[10][11]Terms disclose a $10 profile-error fee and prohibit refunds once the final exam begins. That cutoff does not establish an unconditional full refund before it; confirm cancellation terms if they matter.[12]
DriveSafeTodayPromotional $14 beside $28; provider says no hidden fees, free digital certificate, and driver notification/submission to ITD.[13]The Idaho page states both 70% and 80% passing scores. Confirm the actual requirement and the unstated cost of an optional mailed certificate by USPS First Class or Express Mail. Its terms end refund eligibility on reaching the final-exam screen, even without answering a question.[13][14]
GoToTrafficSchool$17 defensive-driving offer; a separate work-required course is $17.40.[15]Current wording mentions agency/court reporting and also tells students to provide proof to the requesting entity. Confirm who sends this exact point-reduction certificate to ITD, included charges, and applicable refund terms.[15]
NTSIPublic point-reduction registration displays Idaho 6-Hour Traffic Level 1 Online at $29.95, with optional $3.95 Read Along. The linked terms assign Idaho certificate submission to the student.[16]Idaho refund exception: request within 30 days of initial registration, no more than two completed modules, less an unspecified processing fee. Obtain the fee before relying on a refund amount.[16]
DriveSafe Online$24.95; Idaho page says course access and certificate are included, with email delivery and flexible delivery options.[17]Confirm ordinary point-reduction filing responsibility, any selected delivery charges, and partial-completion refunds. The advertised insurance-refusal guarantee does not establish those point-reduction refund terms.[17]
I Drive SafelyPromotional $19 beside $29; Idaho page says it reports completion directly to Idaho DMV each Friday and offers proof of completion.[18]Confirm included charges, certificate options, applicable refunds, and whether the weekly reporting schedule fits your situation. Friday reporting is a provider statement, not an ITD processing guarantee.[18]

$12 Idaho Driver’s terms bear an August 6, 2021 date and name Online CE, LLC as the operator. Check your license and profile details carefully. A $10 charge to fix a profile mistake could add to the $12 course price.[12]

DriveSafeToday’s countdown does not prove how long $14 will last. Its page also mentions Florida DHSMV notice; that is not proof of Idaho filing. We have not confirmed an actual mandatory Idaho reporting fee or tested its no-hidden-fees claim through checkout.[13]

GoToTrafficSchool and DriveSafe Online still leave filing or refund questions open. Their ITD listings do not answer those questions. NTSI’s sign-up path asks for court and citation details. That does not prove you need a pending ticket to seek voluntary point reduction.[2][16]

The pages checked for these six offers did not establish an exact mid-course identity method. That does not mean there are no checks. Ask about required checks and staffed support hours if either could affect your ability to finish.

Choose around the task you need to finish

If you might seek a refund, check the cutoff before you open course content or the final exam. Safe2Drive uses completion or certificate issuance as cutoffs. Highway deducts money once you start. DriveSafeToday ends refunds on reaching the final-exam screen. NTSI’s policy leaves its processing fee unstated, so ask for the amount.[5][7][14][16]

If you want the school to file, I Drive Safely says it reports each Friday. Safe2Drive, Highway, $12 Idaho Driver, DriveSafeToday, and NTSI tell you to submit proof yourself. Getting an instant certificate is a separate step from having the state apply a point reduction.[18][4][6][11][13][16]

If your deadline is close, ask the office handling it what must arrive and when. The six-hour minimum covers instruction time. It does not promise that sign-up, testing, delivery of proof, and state processing will all finish within six hours.[1]

Before paying, save the course name, price, extras, refund terms, and filing steps. Check for charges to issue, deliver, or file your proof. ITD warns that the quoted course cost may leave out a certificate.[2]

Before buying an Idaho point-reduction course, confirm total cost, refund cutoffs and who sends the certificate to ITD. A certificate alone does not prove ITD applied the reduction; confirm the result with ITD.
Ask about costs, cancellation cutoffs and certificate filing before paying. After completion, confirm ITD received the certificate and applied the expected result.

After completion, confirm ITD received the certificate

If you must file your own proof, follow the school’s steps. ITD lists ddc@itd.idaho.gov for defensive-driving certificates. Keep a copy. Confirm that ITD received it and applied the expected result to your record. A school’s email alone does not prove that ITD has applied a reduction.[2]

Start with the ITD roster and eligibility rules, then open the exact Idaho course. Get answers to the questions that affect your choice before sending payment.

Related Reading

Sources

  1. Idaho Administrative Code, IDAPA 39.02.71, Sections 400.01-04, 500, and 550.03.
  2. Idaho Transportation Department, Driver Records and Suspensions, Defensive Driving Courses and approved-provider roster.
  3. Safe2Drive, Idaho course-selection path, Idaho 6-Hr Defensive Driving selection and subsequent Point Reduction tuition screen.
  4. Safe2Drive, Idaho Defensive Driving Course.
  5. Safe2Drive, Satisfaction Guaranteed, refund policy and support hours.
  6. Highway Traffic School, Idaho Defensive Driving.
  7. Highway Traffic School, Idaho refund policy, labeled April 30, 2022.
  8. Highway Traffic School, Terms of Use, Sections 4-8; labeled September 9, 2026.
  9. Highway Traffic School, Customer Support.
  10. $12 Idaho Driver, Course offer.
  11. $12 Idaho Driver, Frequently Asked Questions.
  12. $12 Idaho Driver, Terms and Conditions, Your Account; labeled August 6, 2021.
  13. DriveSafeToday, Idaho Defensive Driving Course.
  14. DriveSafeToday, Terms of Use, Payment and Refund Policy.
  15. GoToTrafficSchool, Idaho Online Defensive Driving.
  16. National Traffic Safety Institute, Idaho point-reduction registration, pricing and linked Terms & Conditions modal; reached from its Idaho product page.
  17. DriveSafe Online, Idaho Accident Prevention Course.
  18. I Drive Safely, Idaho Traffic School.

Last updated: October 9, 2026

Similar Posts